November 28th, 2002


New Studio Album From The Deftones Soon.

The band have posted the following message via their official web site: "We want to thank everyone for their patience and support. We are currently in the final stages of the recording process. For the past couple months we have been in Seattle finishing what was started at home. Initial tracking for the new album was done in Sacramento. We're all really excited with the new tunes and can not wait to get back out on the road with them. More updates to come. Much thanks... DEFTONES"

SYSTEM OF A DOWN: No New Music Until 2004!

SYSTEM OF A DOWN will not release the follow-up to 2001's "Toxicity" until 2004 at the earliest, according to frontman Serj Tankian. "Daron's [Malakian, guitarist] been writing new music," he said. "We all work on stuff. But we've all been too busy with Ozzfest, 'Toxicity' and putting this record ['Steal This Album!'] out to really think about [releasing a new album]."

The band will now take some time off which they will use to recuperate after a hefty touring schedule. Tankian will reportedly be putting his efforts toward his Serjical Strike label, which has its official launch in January of next year, while bassist Shavo Odadjian will spend some time concentrating on his DJ career, a representative for the group said.


AUDIOSLAVE's self-titled debut, featuring ex-SOUNDGARDEN singer Chris Cornell and former RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE members, has entered The Billboard 200 Pop Album chart at position No. 7 after selling 162,000 copies in its first week. SOUNDGARDEN's final studio release for A&M, 1996's "Down on the Upside", opened at No. 2 on sales of 176,000 units, while RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE's "The Battle of Los Angeles" shot to No. 1 after moving 430,000 copies in November 1999. Meanwhile, MUDVAYNE had their best debut week with their latest, "The End of All Things to Come", arriving at No. 17 on sales of 79,000 copies. The band's "L.D. 50" debuted at No. 113 in September 2000, but has since sold 564,000 copies.


MINISTRY frontman Al Jourgensen is the latest guest musician to contribute to the forthcoming LIMP BIZKIT album, "Less Is More".
Jourgensen joins the likes of ex-HELMET man Page Hamilton, KORN's Head and WEEZER mastermind Rivers Cuomo on the upcoming effort, which is currently being recorded at a Los Angeles studio with producer Rick Rubin.
According to Al, he was celebrating his birthday on the night of Oct. 9 when he quite literally ran into BIZKIT frontman Fred Durst.
"I got out of a limousine which KORN had provided for me to come and see them play the New Jersey Meadowlands," Jourgensen told Kerrang! "It was stocked with bottles of Dom Perignon, which was nice, except I was with Alcoholics Anonymous members and had to drink them all myself. I was slightly off-center. The first person I saw when I got out of the car was Fred Durst. I did the only decent thing I could do, which was to tackle him. I knocked hi head off ,and he seemed to like that approach."
Jourgensen revealed that Durst asked him to contribute vocals, guitar and production to two songs on "Less Is More" after hearing a copy of MINISTRY's "Animositisomina" backstage at the KORN show.
"He's asked me to basically do what I do," Al said. "He's going to let me run with it. I'm happy to work like that. I don't know his music, but I know him, and, you know, he tackles real easy."
"Less Is More" is slated for an Apr. 1, 2003 release through Interscope Records.

Former AMEN Guitarist Launches FIVE-O-CLOCK

Former AMEN guitarist Sonny Mayo has teamed up with former WHITE ZOMBIE drummer Ivan Dr Prume, vocalist Jason "Gong" Jones (ex-BUILT XL, last seen jamming with ex-FEAR FACTORY axeman Dino Cazares in his new project) and bassist Stevo Bruno in a new band called FIVE-O-CLOCK.
The band, who are currently seeking a record deal, have recorded demos in Los Angeles and secured a management deal with PAPA ROACH's management company.

LAMB OF GOD Complete Drums For Upcoming CD

LAMB OF GOD have completed the drum tracks for their upcoming album at Richmond, Virginia's Montana studios with producer Devin Townsend (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD). Ten tracks are slated for inclusion on the as-yet-untitled CD, tentatively due in April 2003 through Prosthetic Records.

SOILWORK To Commence Recording New CD

Sweden's SOILWORK will enter Helsingborg's Queenstreet Recording studios on Dec. 16 to begin recording their as-yet-untitled fifth full-length album, due in late spring via Nuclear Blast Records.
The band will track all guitars and keyboards at Queenstreet with producer Fredrik Nordström before moving over to Uppsala's Dug-Out Recording to record the drums under the watchful eye of Daniel Bergstrand (MESHUGGAH, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, STUCK MOJO). "We want to have a more 'alive' and acoustic sound to the drums this time," explained the band via their official web site. "We are also big fans of Daniel's previous work regarding drums on other albums."
The vocals and the bass will once again be recorded at Studio Fredman, with the mix scheduled to take place at the same facility.
"The songs [on the upcoming album] will probably sound a lot like [those on] 'Natural Born Chaos', but we are focusing on making even better choruses," the band stated. "We guarantee that you won't be disappointed (or at least we hope so he he!!)."